Smiling Latino family2021年10月,特殊需要儿童之友(FCSN)与近500名使用9种语言的家长和看护人交谈,了解他们对提高对职业以及职业技术教育(CVTE)认识的疑问和想法。以下是他们分享的想法。

存在基于语言的知识差距

在调查中,我们请家庭在0-5分的范围内对自己的职业以及职业技术教育知识进行评分。如图所示,母语非英语的家庭比母语是英语的家庭更有可能将自己的知识水平评为0分。此外,与母语非英语的人相比,母语是英语的人更有可能将自己的知识水平评为“中至高”。

Over 40% of speakers of languages other than English had zero knowledge of Career and Technical education

父母和看护人有很多疑问

 

在焦点小组中,家庭提出了许多疑问。这些疑问可用于帮助我们开发适合家庭使用的翻译资源,以便提高对职业以及职业技术教育的认识。一些例子包括:

  • 参加这些计划需要缴费吗?回答:不需要。这些学校和课程是公立学校的一部分,因此免费提供。
  • 这些学校需要知道我/我孩子的移民身份吗?回答:不需要。这些学校不得提出此类问题,马萨诸塞州公立学校欢迎所有儿童。
  • 除了技术培训外,这些学校是否提供扎实的学业教育?回答:是的。马萨诸塞州所有高中都必须达到相同的高学业标准。
  • 这些计划有哪些益处?一些回答包括:这些计划提供深入的技术培训,帮助学生做好准备,以便进入劳动力市场并在需求旺盛的职业领域获得不错的薪水。这些计划非常适合喜欢动手学习并将在学校学到的知识用于未来职业领域的学生。
  • 如何申请?回答:申请过程因学校或课程而异。对于专注于职业技术教育的学校,大多数学生在8年级时申请。 
翻译内容就是告诉人们,“这些信息适用于所有人”。

photo of the word 学校查找器(School Finder)现已翻译成五种语言,但在进行焦点小组讨论时,仅有英文版本。这导致多位家长询问职业技术教育是否仅适用于母语是英语的人。也就是说,这些信息不仅让母语非英语的人感到不受欢迎,它还给人造成了这些计划需要一定的英语水平才能参加的印象。事实并非如此。作为公立学校,职业以及职业技术教育学校和计划需要提供语言支持,例如英语作为第二语言(ESL)服务。翻译的信息是增加母语为其他语言的人的就学机会的重要因素。 

马萨诸塞州学校查找器很有帮助……但还有改进的余地

在焦点小组中,马萨诸塞州学校查找器在线资源深受家庭欢迎,许多人评论说要是早点知道这一资源就好了,或很高兴现在知道了这一资源。以前只有少数家庭知道这一资源。建议进行两项改进:添加地图,并翻译成多种语言。 

个人网络是重要的信息来源

焦点小组和调查表明,家庭在做出有关孩子的教育决定时,最依赖从朋友和家人那里获得的信息。几乎同样重要的是从孩子当前就读的学校收到的信息。社交媒体排在第三位,特别是Facebook(它依靠友谊和家庭关系来传播信息)。移民父母还提到了在WhatsApp和微信中建立的特定语言网络。这两个应用程序旨在帮助人们与现有的网络保持联系。在焦点小组中可以进行更深入的交谈,家庭还指出社区和医疗保健机构是特别值得信赖的信息来源。 

最好使用简单的语言来解释“基础知识”

在调查和焦点小组中,我们询问家庭是否熟悉学校查找器下拉菜单中列出的一些职业以及职业技术教育路径和计划。这些术语包括第74章、非第74章或仅限Perkins、创新途径、晚上计划、早期大学。大多数家庭不熟悉这些术语。在焦点小组中,家庭对其中几个术语的最初反应是负面的。我们已将此反馈传递给中小学教育部的合作伙伴,并正在共同努力在1)使介绍性语言尽可能易于理解和2)帮助家庭理解这些术语的含义之间取得平衡,以便就孩子的教育做出正确的决定。

随着学生年龄的增长,学校需要与家庭保持沟通

Parents and student of color viewing a cellphone screen在焦点小组中,许多家庭表示,对教育选择有直接的了解和理解对他们来说很重要,而不仅仅是依靠孩子的报告。在一些群体中,家庭表示他们知道孩子收到了有关职业以及职业技术教育的信息,但他们从未收到这些信息或者孩子(中学生)无法清楚地解释这些信息。其他人描述了随着学生年龄的增长,学校与家庭的沟通减少了,尽管父母通常在鼓励和帮助学生申请或注册计划方面发挥着重要作用。  对于神经多样性儿童的父母来说,这种担忧尤为严重。一位家长评论说,信息似乎是无意中传达给家长的,而不是学校努力确保家庭拥有他们需要的信息。

要阅读完整报告,请访问二级选项家庭参与项目网站

Smiling Latino familyIn October 2021, our parent organization, the Federation for Children with Special Needs spoke with nearly 500 parents and caregivers in 9 languages, to learn about their questions and ideas for improving awareness of career, vocational and technical education (CVTE). Here’s what they said.

There is a Language-Based Knowledge Gap

In our surveys, we asked families to rate their knowledge of career, technical, and vocational education on a scale of 0-5.  As this graph shows, families with a home language other than English were much more likely to rate their knowledge level at 0 than English speakers. And, English Speakers were more likely to rate their knowledge as moderate to high than speakers of other languages.

Over 40% of speakers of languages other than English had zero knowledge of Career and Technical education

Parents and Caregivers Have a Lot of Questions

In focus groups, families asked many questions. These questions can be used to help us develop family-friendly and translated resources and build awareness of CVTE. Some examples:

  • Is there a cost to attend? Answer: no – these schools and programs are free because they are part of public schools.
  • Do these schools need to know my/my child’s immigration status? Answer: no – that is not a question they are allowed to ask, and all children are welcome in Massachusetts public schools.
  • Do schools provide solid academics in addition to technical training? Answer: Yes – all high schools in Massachusetts must meet the same high academic standards.
  • What are the benefits of these programs? Some answers: these programs provide deep technical training that prepares students to enter the workforce and earn a good living in an in-demand career field. They are a great fit for students who enjoy hands-on learning and making connections between what they learn at school and their future careers.
  • How do people apply? Answer: The application process varies by school or program. For schools that focus on Vocational and Technical Education, most students apply during their 8th Grade Year. 

Translated Content Signals, “This Information is for Everyone.”

photo of the word Although the School Finder has now been translated into five languages, when focus groups were held it was only available in English. This led multiple parents to ask whether career and technical education was only for English-speakers. That is, the information was not only not welcoming to speakers of other languages – it also gave the impression that the programs required English proficiency to participate. This is not the case. As public schools, CVTE schools and programs are required to offer language supports such as English as a Second Language (ESL) services. Translated information will be an important part of increasing access to schools by diverse language speakers. 

Massachusetts School Finder is Helpful… and Could be Even Better

In our focus groups, the Massachusetts School Finder online resource was well received by families, with many commenting that they wish they had known about it earlier or were glad to know about it now. Only a small number of families were previously aware of this resource. Two improvements were recommended: add a map, and translate into as many languages as possible. 

Personal Networks are Crucial Information Sources

According to both focus groups and surveys, families rely most on information received from friends and family members to make educational decisions about their child. Almost as important: information received from their child’s current school. Social Media came in third — and specifically, Facebook (which relies on friendships and family connections to spread information). Immigrant parents also mentioned language-specific networks set up in WhatsApp and WeChat — two apps designed for staying in touch with your existing network. In focus groups, where conversation can go deeper, families also pointed to community and healthcare agencies as particularly trusted sources of information. 

It’s Best to use Plain Language to Explain “The Basics”

In both our survey and our focus groups, we asked families if they were familiar with a number of CVTE Pathways and Programs that are listed in a drop-down menu within the School Finder. These terms include Chapter 74, Non-Chapter 74 or Perkins Only, Innovation Pathways, After Dark, Early College. Most families were not familiar with these terms; and in focus groups, families had negative initial reactions to several of them. We’ve passed this feedback on to our partners at the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, and are working together to  find a balance between 1) making introductory language as accessible as possible and 2) helping families understand what these terms mean so that they can make good decisions about their child’s education.

Schools Need to Keep Communicating with Families As Students Get Older

Parents and student of color viewing a cellphone screenIn our focus groups, many families expressed that it was important to them to have direct knowledge and understanding of their educational options – not merely to rely on reports from their children. In some groups, families expressed that they knew their child received information about CVTE that never made it to them or was not clear enough once communicated by a middle schooler. Others described how, as students get older, communication with families decreases, despite the vital role that parents typically play in encouraging and helping students apply for or enroll in programs.  This concern is particularly acute for parents of neurodiverse children. One parent commented that information seems to come to parents accidentally, rather than as a result of schools making an effort to make sure families have the information they need.

Read the full report on the Secondary Options Family Engagement Project Website